Wheelyfast’s words

My take on CP & life

Hi and welcome to my page

Posted by wheelyfast on September 9, 2007

G’day everyone,

Well, this is my first post in my exciting new project. The idea behind this blog is that I write about my experiences as a young woman with Cerebral Palsy (CP) and anything else disability related and hopefully it will become a resource for people with CP, their parents, carers, friends families, teachers and basically anyone out there who is interested. I would also like to use it to showcase my writing and as a way of expressing my feelings.

I was asked by my counsellor at the local community centre to write about CP and any related disability issues from my point of view so that it could help raise disability awareness in my community. The only problem she had was that she wasn’t sure how to get my writings out to the community. I suggested a blog because I hope that people who read it will add their own thoughts and experiences in the comments section and this will become an even bigger/better resource.

I’m not sure what I’ll write about first, or how often I’ll write on here. I thought I’d write a little about me and you can learn more and get my medical updates at www.caringbridge.org/visit/karenmelissa . if anyone has any comments or questions or anything to add about what I write up here at any time please leave a comment in the comments section of any post.

My name is Karen and I’m 23 years old and I live in Australia with my parents and dog whose name is Flea and some goldfish. I attend the local TAFE, and university. I love to read and write, watch movies, listen to music and I’m a motor sports fanatic. My favourite colour is purple.

I have a type of cp called Spastic Diplegia . it affects my legs and also my right arm. I am not affected by the CP intellectually in anyway although there seems to be an automatic assumption by the community that I am- that’s a post for another day. I use a wheelchair to get around all the time and have both an electric and a manual chair.

If anyone has any questions or anything you’d like to ask me please leave a comment. I will write again really soon.

Karen

22 Responses to “Hi and welcome to my page”

  1. Shirley said

    I’m looking forward to following you through this blog. I’ll pass it on to other people I know that would be interested in your story. Shirley in Georgia

  2. Sue said

    Hi Karen, I think this is a great ideal and it will be a good thing sharing your experience with others who might be going through the same and hopefully everyone will be able to help and help others. I think it’s good to just write out your feelings also. Keep up the good work of trying to help others while you are dealing with so much yourself……

    Sue in Florida…..

  3. Hi Karen. I think what you are doing is a very good thing. CP has a lot of negative assumptions about it. When someone thinks of CP they automatically put them into a catorgy of being “mentally retarded”. The only reason why some are considered to be mentally retarded is because some are unable to test. Take Alex for an example, he is very very bright, but just because he can not be test due to the fact that he can not vocalize, he is considered to be mentally retarded just beacuse he has to classified.

    I have worked with 3 different people who have CP. All different pages and different types. One girl was 33 and has CP because her mother did drugs while she was pregnant. One man who has CP got it because his mother smoked the entire time she was pregnant. The little boy Alex, that I take care of now, is the less servere case I have seen and is is 6. He has CP due to a medical mistake by the doctors and nothing to do with the mother.

    I know that you will raise awareness and you are doing a wonderful thing here. Keep up the good work!!! 🙂

  4. Emma said

    Hey babe,

    Sorry I’ve been so out of touch lately. It’s been a little crazy. Love this site, it’s such a great idea. I keep saying I will write a book about my experiences with CP but I never get round to it, LOL!

    Let me know if I can contribute any writings or anything to it or if you want me to customise your layout for you (or attempt to talk you thru doing it yourself) – my blog is on wordpress too.

    Catch up with you soon, I hope

    Emma

  5. pam said

    A great idea Karen

  6. SHELLEY said

    HI KAREN,
    WHAT A HREAT IDEA! AND I AM GLAD YOU ARE DOING ALL YOU CAN TO BRING THE AWARENESS ABOUT CP OUT. YOU ARE A TRUE BLESSING AND SUCH A SWEETIE.
    YOU ARE DOING A GREAT THING HERE.
    LOVE,
    SHELLEY

  7. Lee Hagood said

    Hi Karen,

    I think this site is a wonderful idea. I personally do not know a lot about CP, but I would like to know more about it, so I can relate to you better. I really enjoy talking to you, but I don’t want to constantly ask you questions about CP, so I can just read about it here. (Then we can talk about other things.) lol I will definitely do my part to spread the word about CP in my area.
    Love ya,
    Lee

  8. good work. keep up. thanks.

  9. Domain said

    Very good information! Thanks very helpful.

  10. Just wanted to say hello and great blog!

  11. l said

    I enjoy what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve included you guys to my blogroll.

  12. I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your information.
    The article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your website and keep checking
    for new details about once a week. I opted in for your Feed too.

  13. I seldom comment, but I looked at a few of the remarks on this page Hi and welcome to my page
    « Wheelyfast’s words. I actually do have a few
    questions for you if you tend not to mind. Is it only
    me or do some of these responses come across like they are coming
    from brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online sites, I’d like to follow you. Would you list of all of your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  14. Good day! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Thank you so much!

  15. Hello just stumbled upon your website from Google after I typed
    in, “Hi and welcome to my page « Wheelyfast’s words” or something
    similar (can’t quite remember exactly). In any case, I’m
    glad I found it because your content is exactly what I’m looking for (writing a college paper) and I hope you don’t mind
    if I gather some material from here and I will of course credit
    you as the source. Thanks.

  16. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking
    back often!

  17. Hello there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for
    this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  18. Hello i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace,
    when i read this article i thought i could also create comment due to this brilliant paragraph.

  19. Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good
    gains. If you know of any please share. Cheers!

  20. I love it when folks come together and share ideas. Great
    blog, keep it up!

  21. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on columbidae. Regards

  22. Amazing! Thiis blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much
    the same page layout annd design. Superb choice of colors!

Leave a comment